Skip navigation.
New Mexico State University
Department of Physics
Colloquium

Physics Colloquium Series - Spring 2018

Contact: Stephen Pate, 575-646-2135, pate@nmsu.edu


Jan Feb Mar Apr May
January

TBA


Thursday, January 18, 4:00 - 5:00 p.m.
Gardiner Hall, Room 230
Host:

Abstract

Back to top

TBA


Thursday, January 25, 4:00 - 5:00 p.m.
Gardiner Hall, Room 230
Host:

Abstract

Back to top

February

The MuSun Experiment: muon capture on the deuteron

Daniel Salvat
(University of Washington)

Thursday, February 1, 4:00 - 5:00 p.m.
Gardiner Hall, Room 230
Host: Robert Cooper

Abstract

Back to top

The dynamical links between small- and large-scale mantle structures: seismological evidence

Daniel Frost
(UC Berkeley)

Thursday, February 8, 4:00 - 5:00 p.m.
Gardiner Hall, Room 230
Host: Lauren Waszek

Abstract

Back to top

The Tropospheric Ozone Pollution Project (TOPP): Greatest Hits from Balloon Soundings of Ozone and Sulfur Dioxide, 2004 - 2017

Gary A. Morris
(St. Edward's University, Austin, Texas)

Thursday, February 15, 4:00 - 5:00 p.m.
Gardiner Hall, Room 230
Host: Michael DeAntonio

Abstract

Back to top

Severe Weather in the Borderland

Jason Laney
(NOAA)

Thursday, February 22, 4:00 - 5:00 p.m.
Gardiner Hall, Room 230
Host: Michael DeAntonio

Abstract

Back to top

March

TBA



Thursday, March 1, 4:00 - 5:00 p.m.
Gardiner Hall, Room 230
Host:

Abstract

Back to top

TBA


Thursday, March 8, 4:00–5:00 p.m.
Gardiner Hall, Room 230
Host:

Abstract

Back to top

Seismic Imaging: A Private Sector Option for Physics Graduates

Joe Peterson
CGG (Houston)

Thursday, March 15, 4:00 - 5:00 p.m.
Gardiner Hall, Room 230
Host: Heinz Nakotte

Abstract

Back to top

No Colloquium (Spring Break)


Thursday, March 22

Back to top

Surprising Impacts of Gravity Waves

Jim Fuller
Caltech

Thursday, March 29, 4:00 - 5:00 p.m.
Gardiner Hall, Room 230
Host: Jason Jackiewicz

Abstract

Back to top

April

TBA



Thursday, April 5, 4:00 - 5:00 p.m.
Gardiner Hall, Room 230
Host:

Abstract

Back to top

Lattice QCD investigations of quark transverse momentum in hadrons

Michael Engelhardt
NMSU


Thursday, April 12, 4:00 - 5:00 p.m.
Gardiner Hall, Room 230
Host: Stefan Zollner

Abstract

Back to top

Short range order in the quantum XXZ honeycomb lattice material BaCo2(PO4)2

Harikrishnan S. Nair
UTEP


Thursday, April 19, 4:00 - 5:00 p.m.
Gardiner Hall, Room 230
Host: Boris Kiefer

Abstract

Back to top

Exploiting strain in crystal epitaxy and solid-state devices

Arnold Kiefer
Air Force Research Lab, Dayton OH


Thursday, April 26, 4:00 - 5:00 p.m.
Gardiner Hall, Room 230
Host: Stefan Zollner

Abstract

Back to top

Back to top

May

Visualization of Optically Inaccessible Flow Fields in Aerospace Systems using Positron Emission Tomography

Jeremy Bruggemann
NMSU and NASA

Thursday, May 3, 4:00 - 5:00 p.m.
Gardiner Hall, Room 230
Host: Stephen Pate

Abstract

Back to top